Southern Comfort Writers Julianne Wick Davis and Dan Collins Are Jonathan Larson Grant Winners

By Adam Hetrick
March 9, 2012

The songwriting team of Julianne Wick Davis and Dan Collins, whose musical Southern Comfort received a New York run last fall, are the recipients of the 2012 Jonathan Larson Grant.

Composer Davis and lyricist-book writer Collins will receive the $10,000 honor in a private March 27 ceremony that will feature performances from Southern Comfort. The musical traces the relationship of two transgender friends who live openly in rural Georgia.

The Larson grants recognize the work of new theatre writers whose goals match those of the late Rent author, who aimed to infuse musical theatre with a “contemporary, joyful, urban vitality.” The American Theatre Wing administers the grants.

Tony Award winners Mark Hollmann (Urinetown) and Robert Lopez (The Book of Mormon, Avenue Q) selected Davis and Collins as the 2012 recipients.

Previous Larson Grant recipients include Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey (Next to Normal), Chad Beguelin and Matthew Sklar (The Wedding Singer), John Bucchino (A Catered Affair), Laurence O’Keefe (Bat Boy: The Musical) and Michael Korie (Grey Gardens).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *